Menu Search Account


Get LegiStorm App
» Get LegiStorm App
» Get LegiStorm Pro Free Demo

Caught Our Eye

GOP makes up 2/3 of top town-hall holders in 2017

Posted by Keturah Hetrick on Dec. 4, 2017

Nearly two-thirds of this year's top town-hall holders are Republicans, according to LegiStorm's tracking of town halls held in person throughout the year. That's contrary to conventional wisdom that Republicans are hiding from voters due to anti-Trump sentiment by most of the electorate.

Instead, Republicans make up 13 of the top 20 town-hall holders among members of Congress. 

Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner (R-Wis.), the self-appointed "King of Town Halls," led both parties with 114 town halls this year — nearly 50 percent more than the next most prolific town-hall holder, Sen. Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), who's held 77.

Republican Reps. Mark Sanford (S.C.) and Roger Marshall (Kan.) and Democratic Sen. Claire McCaskill (Mo.) followed, with 60, 55 and 49 town halls, respectively.